breaking news New

Eritrea Football President Esayas praises 2019 CAF Awards in Egypt

The President of the Eritrean National Football Association (ENFF), Abraham Esayas has praised the high level of organization of the 2019 CAF Awards.

Esayas together with other Football Presidents from across the African continent attended the colourful function at the Albatros Citadel, Sahl Hasheeshin Hurghada, Egypt on Tuesday night.

“The organisation of the ceremony was well planned and we thank CAF for the work well done. We also managed to hold a meeting for the new Council of East and Central African Football Associations Executive Board where I am a member,” added Esayas.

The 28th edition of the CAF Awards celebrated African footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during 2019.

Senegal and Liverpool forward Sadio Mane was voted Africa Player of the Year at the ceremony. He collected 477 votes ahead of his Liverpool teammate Mohamed Salah, 325 votes and Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez, 267 votes.

“I’m very happy and proud to win this award. I thank my teammates at the Senegal national team and also my club, Liverpool for their support,” added Mane.

Nigeria’s Oshoala was named African Women’s Player of the Year for the fourth time. She garnered 351 votes, 30 more than Cameroonian forward Ajara Nchout and Thembi Kgatlana, who had 247 votes.

For the Interclub Player of the Year, Esperance Youcef Belaili won the prize, while the Youth Player of the Year award went to Moroccan Achraf Hakimi. Djamel Belmadi and Desiree Ellis picked the Coach of the Year male and female respectively.

No player or coach from the CECAFA region made it to the final list of those picked.

African Player of the Year

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

African Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

African Interclubs Player of the Year

Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

African Men’s Coach of the Year

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)

African Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

African Men’s National Team of the Year


African Women’s National Team of the Year


Federation of the Year

Egyptian Football Association

Special Award

Kojovi Obilale (former Togolese goalkeeper)


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password